“I am the master of my fate; I am the captain on my soul…”

1

November 30, 2012 by Dropped Ink

William Ernest Henley gave us those empowering words, I reflected on them as they would mean to a writer. Often times when working through a story or an idea I find that I meet dear old self deprecation a lot more often than I care to. He takes a seat beside me and rest his weary chin upon my shoulder slowly dragging his un-manicured dirty fingers across my screen finishing with a quiet whisper in my ear of “I was not impressed and neither will they be.” I am well aware that was a colorful dramatic and description but that is how it feels when I doubt myself and beat up on my psyche. I am growing daily and getting stronger when it comes to believing in myself but many writers will admit, this is damn hard. You have to reach a point within yourself where you get tired of meeting the same old group of friends that hamper and stifle your creativity. I have found myself telling those feeling to please go away and not return. Just because the person on your right may not like your words does not mean the person on your left can not find the beauty in them.

Writing can cause a lot of soul searching and the dredging up of feelings that may not have been on the surface or that you never knew even existed. Those feelings can easily veer you off your path and cause you to go in an unintended direction. The key to dealing with those feelings is channeling into positive energy and drawing the best from them to get the clearest vision of the story you want to tell. I will admit that can be a task, especially when writing about tough topics or even auto biographical pieces. You have to understand those feelings want to be directed and focused. Allowing them to run unsupervised within your head is like letting the crazies run the asylum. Take time to organize your thoughts, if it becomes overwhelming take a break and a few deep breaths. Don’t try to force through the feelings but acknowledge their presence and make them take a seat as you decided how to deal with them. Some feelings will hold on for dear life in most cases those are the feelings that should be let go. The other feelings may be useful in crafting characters but be sure to have a clear idea about how to channel them to do their job. Own your words don’t let your words own you. Master them and use them to captivate readers.

I am the master of my fate, the captain of my soul

One thought on ““I am the master of my fate; I am the captain on my soul…”

  1. Nicole says:

    The greatest mistake that we make is to worry about the outcome of the engagement. (Bruce Lee) Sometimes we can worry too much about winning or losing. What it comes down to is what you have learned on your journey. Let it happen. Don’t compare or compete, it is a waste of time.

Leave a Reply

